Simple Salmon Burgers

These seasons just can’t seem to make up their mind, I mean we have gone from 60 degree weather to a blizzard in one day! With all the flip flopping back and forth (and my outfit having to change every 2 hours) I wanted something that felt light enough for the spring weather, but substantial enough for the cold. Salmon is my favorite fish that I eat year round. It is a staple in my house and I know that almost everyone has had a frozen filet in their freezer at some point!

What makes salmon the perfect protein for any meal is its incredible versatility. You can find it in almost any type of cuisine and paired with every vegetable and side dish under the sun! However, at home I find myself preparing it with soy sauce and brown sugar or lemon and garlic and thats it. Don’t get me wrong these are simple, straightforward and delicious recipes that I would happily eat forever, but sometimes its fun to put a twist on something standard.

Normally when I think about salmon burgers, I picture a dense fishy patty that is more filler than meat. So I pushed the idea off as a time consuming recipe that wouldn’t yield amazing results. But when I thought more about it, I knew I had to try to make a healthier version that would satisfy my need for “summer food” while still being robust for winter. Challenge accepted!

Unlike the salmon burgers I was picturing, these are incredibly delicate and feel fresh. I kept the pieces of fish large enough that it actually felt like eating salmon, and it practically melts in your mouth! I cut out the traditional eggs and breadcrumbs that many recipes use to bind everything together, without the binding agent the salmon doesn’t stay together as well (Definitely handle with care when moving them anywhere!) but it cooks much more evenly. The more even the cook, the better the taste. Plus just a light coating of panko on the outside of the patty gives it a delicious crunch.

I served my burgers the traditional way, on a toasted hamburger bun with Sriracha mayonnaise and romaine lettuce. But go crazy with the toppings! These burgers taste amazing with tartar sauce and arugula, or over spinach with jalapeños and some lemon juice. Any way you want to eat them these salmon burgers were a huge hit! They definitely checked every box that i was looking for!

IMG_0402.JPG

Easy Salmon Burger

Ingredients

  • 2 Salmon Filets, skin removed
  • 2 tablespoons of Dijon Mustard
  • 1 tablespoon og Mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of grated Lemon Zest
  • Pinch of Cayenne Petter
  • 2 Scallions, chopped
  • 1 cup plus 3 tablespoons of Panko Bread Crumbs
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Sriracha
  • Lettuce

Instructions

  1. Dice three-quarters of the salmon into small pieces, place in a large bowl. Cut the rest of the salmon into small chunks and place in the food processor along with the mustard, mayonnaise, lemon juice, lemon zest, and cayenne pepper. Pulse into a paste. (You don’t need to use a food processor, chop finely and mix well with the wet ingredients.)
  2. Add the salmon paste mixture to the bowl with the diced salmon. Add the scallions, 3 tablespoons of panko, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and freshly ground black pepper. Gently mix until just combined.
  3. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and lightly brush with olive oil. Divide the salmon mixture into mounds on the parchment paper. (Smaller patties work better as these burgers are very delicate. You should have enough for 4 medium/small patties or 2 larger ones if you’re careful!) With damp hands shape the mounds into patties. Loosely cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  4. Spread 1 cup of panko on a plate, gently press both sides of the salmon patty in the panko. Heat the olive oil in a large nonstick skillet. Add the patties and cook until just browned on the bottom (3-4 minutes) turn and cook the other side until browned. Transfer to a paper towel lined plate to drain.
  5. In a small bowl, mix mayonnaise and Sriracha until combined adjusting the amounts until it reaches your desired level of heat.
  6. Serve over greens or on a bun with desired toppings.

Melissa ❤

2 thoughts on “Simple Salmon Burgers

  1. Carolyn Lester says:

    Melissa, you are an amazing writer. The descriptions of your recipes are yummy sounding, creative and inviting to try. This “Simple Salmon Burgers” recipe is perfect to my taste. Maybe someday all of your recipes will appear in your first printed cookbook!! I am so proud of my great niece!! Aunt Carolyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

